top of page

Got My First Valentine's Day SALE!

Cupid Strikes My Etsy Shop


screenshot of email notification
Photo from Author

Get this, friends — on February 5th I posted about using my mad graphic design skills to craft some totally adorable printable Valentine’s Day cards to sell in my newbie Etsy shop. I even gave away two FREE printable cards for everyone to download. Did you?


With only 9 days left until V-Day, I hoped my cheeky little “My Cosmic Match!” and “My Lucky Catch” prints would catch some shopper’s eye. But as a shiny new Etsy seller with only a few sales, I tried not to get my hopes up too high.


After staying up way too late perfecting every sweet little font and cutesy tiny graphic, I posted my printable Valentine’s with instructions for printing and cutting them out properly.


Then I shouted about them from the social media rooftops: “Get your last-minute Valentine’s right here, folks!” I announced, with more gusto than confidence.


And then…(drumroll please)…crickets. Tumbleweeds. Ghost town.

The next morning, I squinted at my phone as my eyes grew large when I spotted an “order received!” email from Etsy! Some precious human actually bought my “XOXO” printable!


screenshot of email notification
Photo from Author

I did a little bananas happy dance around my room, with some slight hip shaking and arm waving. I guess my fur babies wondered what I am on at that moment. Don’t judge — it was my third sale, y’all!


Animated Dancers Clip Art on ClipArt Best
Animated Dancers Clip Art on ClipArt Best

With pounding heart, I checked the buyer’s information on my shop. Bless her! I wanted to include a digital thank-you note for making my design dreams reality, but settled for a personal thank you message on the inbox instead. It’s the thought that counts, right?


After all those late nights designing prints instead of sleeping, it melted my heart knowing I spread extra love on Valentine’s Day.


So move over Hallmark, there’s a new card maker in town! Who knows, maybe by 2025 my Etsy shop will be prosperous enough to quit my day job. But even if I just brighten someone’s day with my melodramatic cards, that’s all the feels I need. Though making enough for some new art supplies wouldn’t hurt either!


Now if you’ll excuse me, I got to start brainstorming next year’s designs...

Cupid’s work never ends!


Here’s the culprit! Just so you know..

bear balloons couple romantic
Photo from Author

Cheesy as it sounds.

Comments


bottom of page